Kiki & Lala

The Birds And The Bees

Posted on: March 21, 2012

Now my first born knows all about them… the birds and the bees.
She’d been asking many questions the past few weeks and worse, had gathered lots of misinformation. So I decided it was time for the talk lest she get even more confused.

I bought this book

several years ago when I got pregnant with Mikel just in case his sister would ask where he came from. She didn’t. Then when I got pregnant for the 3rd time she asked and was satisfied with “The mommy and the daddy have to pray really hard and ask for a baby”.

But this week, the book needed to be taken out of mothballs. It’s basic and cute and funny and cartoony which was a big help but I never realized how uncomfortable it would be to talk to my own child about this. It’s right up there with talking to your parents about it. I’m not kidding!

She took it well. Some suppressed laughter and squealing on her part but all in all she took it like a big girl. She just said, “But that’s so weird…” So I told her yes, it sounds weird but it’s not at all. It’s very normal and natural and if people didn’t do this, there would be no more people.

I also made her swear not to tell other kids about this new information because only their parents can decide if they’re ready to know or not. And I could tell afterwards that she felt empowered by this new knowledge for “big kids” only. I can only hope…

10 Responses to "The Birds And The Bees"

It’s a saddening realization that she’s becoming a big girl now… At the same time, we all knew this was gonna happen sooner or later and better that it come from you than from one of her carpool mates who might give her misinformation about “B&B” LOL

i need to type up that rocio-ism

I’m surprised you haven’t yet. That was hilarious!

What did her carpool mates tell her???

This book looks cool, can I borrow?

sure… are there some things about the birds and the bees that need clarification? ;p

yikes! you know, i learned when i was 7… (before then i thought kissing would get you pregnant after watching knots landing episodes) and it was my silly brother chuck who told me. i remember being totally shocked. i dunno though how it would have been had mom told me… yun lang just wanted to share. #bida

[…] The Birds And The Bees (kikiandlalaland.wordpress.com) 30.500000 121.150000 Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailPrintDiggRedditStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Life behind the wallFind out how life can be for a Black American woman married to a Chinese man behind the Great Wall of China. Follow Blog via Email […]

Leave a Reply

Tulong Para Sa Rizal

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

