Kiki & Lala

Fuerza Bruta

Posted on: May 30, 2011

I finally went to see Fuerza Bruta. It was trippy yet amazing.  A visual feast that keeps you on your toes (literally as there are no seats for this performance).  Every scene outdoes the previous in the scale of outrageousness.  Your senses are literally hit with brute force (hence the title?).  I guess it can best be described as Cirque du Soleil on LSD – dreamy, trippy, surreal.

As expected, I forgot my camera so I’m embedding a trailer from You Tube and  grabbing some web pics just to give you an idea.  The music by the way was awesome!

This was a recurring theme throughout the performance.  I suppose it signified breaking out of elements that make you feel trapped – society, systems, tradition.  Who knows?

Photo credit: broadway.com

For me the the highlight was watching a bunch of girls dressed in flimsy, see through dresses slither through gushing water on what appears to be very maleable plexiglass on top of the audience.  I know, I know, it sounds X rated but I thought it was quite entertaining.  We spent a large part of the performance looking up.   This might give you a better idea.

Photo credit: broadway.com

Here’s another pic so you can better visualize.

Photo credit: broadway.com

The dancing was super cool too.

After all those dream sequences, we end in some kind of carnival atmosphere where everyone is dancing and drenched in water – the audience gets sprayed.

I was really expecting it to be too non-traditional for my taste but I ended up enjoying it tremendously.  I think you’ll like it too.

2 Responses to "Fuerza Bruta"

wow… was there a story or was it a free flowing fluid performance without a story story like cirque?

If there was I story I sure didn’t catch it! Nonetheless it was a feast for the senses.

Leave a Reply

Tulong Para Sa Rizal

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 37 other followers

