Kiki & Lala

Faker Baker: Classic Brownies

Posted on: January 18, 2011

By now you can tell that I have an incurable obsession for chocolate.  Can’t get enough of them so I thought I’d make classic brownies this time.

Here’s what you need.

2 sticks unsalted butter

10 ounces bitter sweet chocolate – I use 70% cocoa solid

2 cups light brown sugar

1 cup all purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

4 large eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

9 x 13 x 2 pan lined with buttered parchment paper

I first melt the butter in a saucepan until it sizzles after its melted.

Add the chocolate, make sure its submerged in the butter.  Turn the heat off and set aside.

Then I combined the brown sugar, flour and salt in the bowl of my mixer and beat on the lowest speed until its all mixed together.

I added 2 eggs to the mixture and beat them until its fully absorbed.  Then I added the remaining 2 eggs.

After, I stirred in the vanilla.

Then, I got my butter chocolate mixture and whisked it.

And combined both mixtures so that I end up with this rich, chocolate batter.

After this batter is mixed thoroughly, I poured it into the pan and popped it in the oven (pre-heated to 350 F) for about 30 minutes….

And voila!

But wait, we’re not yet done.  After I cooled the pan, I removed the brownies and double wrapped it in plastic wrap and stored it in the refrigerator overnight before cutting.

The next day, this is what I ended up with.  I’m so proud of the texture and the gooey consistency in the middle.

I then packed them and took them with me to the office for my poor guinea pigs.

Personally, I think i could have used more chocolate because it wasn’t chocolatey enough.  However, I am very happy with the texture of these goodies.  I’ll try it again with more cocoa solids next time.

 

4 Responses to "Faker Baker: Classic Brownies"

what fortunate office mates you have.
stop calling yourself a faker baker!
these looked great 🙂

When I manage to find someone stupid enough to buy these, then I will start calling myself a real baker. 🙂

those brownies look great! i gave up baking when i was young and repeatedly got frustrated with ready make brownie mix which turned out either underdone or burnt! hahaha! so i have respect for those who can turn out a good batch of brownies! im sure your office mates felt like lucky guinea pigs! =)

Thanks! I started with no kitchen sense. I’m not even sure if I have it now. But I found that making these simple recipes is so gratifying. You should try it. Lotsa fun!

Leave a Reply

Tulong Para Sa Rizal

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

