Kiki & Lala

Thanks For The Thanksgiving Parade!

Posted on: November 27, 2010

As my Thanksgiving Chef has since moved to London (boohoo!), I thought this year would be a great time to brave the cold and watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade. So when wonder-twin Addie suggested we go, I jumped at the chance.  One of the things I love about hanging with the Wonder Twins is that they’ve lived here all their lives and they are still happy to do tourist-y activities like watching the parade.  Simple stuff.

And so we hatched this grand plan to meet at 9 am somewhere along Central Park West to catch the front end of the parade.  So how did it go?  Let’s put it this way, I’d give us an A for planning and an F for execution.  We didn’t catch the front end of the parade, we caught the tail end!   We missed Kylie, Kanye and all the other celebs on floats.  But I got to see the tail end up close and it was well worth it.  So here are some shots I took of the parade.  These photos are a tad better than my fight photos.

Distant photo of Santa taken from Columbus Circle

Smurf shot from Columbus Circle

A better shot from 57th Street and 7th Avenue. Poor Smurf is being poked by that lamp post!

Here is a passing float of the ice queen

Another float of what looks like carolers to me

Little girl on her way to the post office to mail her letter to Santa

I don't know what these 3 are, but they look like man-fairies to me

Man-fairies up close

And who do we find at the very end of the parade?

Santa and Mrs. Claus!!!

This year has been a very very blessed year for you and me, VERY.  There is AT LEAST 365 things to be thankful for.  And on top of all that, I’m thankful for the Thanksgiving parade : ) Wish you were here!

2 Responses to "Thanks For The Thanksgiving Parade!"

my faves are the little girl mailing her letter and the dickensian carolers 🙂

[…] year I was fortunate enough to watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade upclose.   This year, I got to watch the balloons being inflated and made ready for the following […]

Leave a Reply

Tulong Para Sa Rizal

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 37 other followers

