Kiki & Lala

Stage MOMents

Posted on: August 17, 2010

As much as I try not to be, the fact is, I AM a stage mother.

So having confessed that, here is a fun, candid picture of my progeny. It was taken late last year for a special bookazine produced by SM and ABS-CBN Publishing for the benefit of Bantay Bata 163.

The publication called Special Moments features photos of moms and their kids with a little write up by the mommies. All the families did the shoot pro bono. The irony is, the beneficiaries of Bantay Bata don’t often have moms like those in the book, who can care for them and give them all the love they need. Being made up and photographed was the least we could do to help.

Here’s what I wrote:

Despite the wealth of motherhood and parenting books there are on the market these days, I don’t think anything can really prepare you for being a mom. It’s all about on the job training. And who’s to say that experience isn’t the best teacher?

My kids are definitely experts at throwing me situations which aren’t often written about in those ubiquitous parenting manuals. How for example, do you deal with a two year old in a corner on time-out who apparently enjoyed the experience and cheerfully greeted anyone who walked past her? What about when she was four and asked me, “Mom, if God wants people to be good, why isn’t it working?” And what to do with my sensitive little boy who – following the mildest of mild scoldings – has his face crumple up and eyes well up with tears?

In parenthood, everyday has the potential of bringing you joy, fulfillment, frustration and worry. I am thankful everyday for what comes our way because, good or bad, I like to think they help me become a better mom. It’s really an adventure that you can only plan so much for but having openness, flexibility and a sense of humor can help! No one in my life has tested my creativity, patience and faith in myself more than Rocio and Mikel. And certainly no one has inspired me more to be the best version of myself.

Photo credit goes to Philip Sison 🙂

4 Responses to "Stage MOMents"

From an equally hormonal (monthly) chick, your write up gave me goosebumps. And here I was thinking that I too challenged your creativity and patience…haha!

The song talks about how we move so quickly through life he newlywed stage, the young parents with babies stage, graduations, and even retirement. Parenting

LOVE LOVE LOVE the photo!!! priceless!

thanks, girls! 🙂
this was the first shot taken – much better than any of the posed ones that were taken after.

Leave a Reply

Tulong Para Sa Rizal

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers