Kiki & Lala

A Flea Grows in Brooklyn

Posted on: June 7, 2010

I had been hearing all these great things about the Brooklyn Flea Market but never really had the chance to go.  So a few weekends ago, I was invited by a girlfriend (Yay! Kiki has girlfriends!) so I thought it would be a good time to see what the hype was all about.

Brooklyn Flea is held on weekends in 2 separate locations.  I went to the Saturday one in Fort Greene.  Now I’m curious to see what the Sunday flea is like.

I expected it to be bigger and the merchandise to be more eclectic but I still think the trip was worth it.  I was also surprised to discover that the prices were certainly NOT flea market prices. Boo! They did have some interesting food kiosks that served yummy stuff like tamarind juice, grilled corn a la Cafe Habana and homemade ice cream. Here are some pics I took to give you an idea.

Glasses of all shapes and sizes.  You daughter would have gone crazy in this stall.

Bikes of all shapes and sizes.  I love the baskets.  Perfect for city riding.

Vintage ceiling panels of all shapes and sizes.

Check out these really cute necklaces.  The one on the left is a subway train and the one on the right, a hollow block.  I was tempted to get the hollow block necklace in honor of my “construction” days of yore.

Here is an assortment of rings.  As you know, I am not a ring person so I didn’t bother sifting through all that.

This was my favorite stall called Flux.  They make really cool shirts and shirt dresses.  The fabric is so soft and I love their smoke designs.  Plus the lady helping us was kind enough to allow us to take a seat and rest under her tent.

And if for some reason you are beset by seemingly unanswerable questions while shopping, you can just…

Cute!

I also took photos of the neighborhood.  Check out these old houses.

After the flea market, we took a long stroll and ended up in the Brooklyn Museum.

Was a mighty fine day!

3 Responses to "A Flea Grows in Brooklyn"

cool!
i especially love the antique ceiling tiles… they don’t make those no mo’.

What a nice day , Kiki. Nothing like it here.

Yeah the weather was great. Is it still unbelievably hot there?

Leave a Reply

Tulong Para Sa Rizal

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

