Kiki & Lala

The Cake Boss

Posted on: December 5, 2009

Since I moved to this quaint little town, I’ve relied on this equally quaint little bakery for all my cake and dessert needs.

Carlo’s Bakery has been around since 1910.  They’re known for their wedding cakes but I think they have pretty amazing dessert cakes and pastries.  Here is my sorry attempt to show you their yummy products.

They make a moist red velvet cake with cream cheese filling. Yum!

And a variety of pies to choose from

And even more goodies!

I liked the fact that this was a local destination which remained a loosely kept secret among residents.  So imagine my unpleasant surprise when I walked to the bakery and found this.

WT...?

Inside the bakery

I discovered that Carlo’s Bakery no longer belongs to the loyal residents of Hoboken. It’s now public property (no) thanks to this.

Buddy Valastro, the owner of Carlo’s Bakery and a fourth generation baker is now a reality TV star.  He stars in TLC’s hit reality show Cake Boss.  The cameras follow Valastro and his family as they run their Hoboken based bakery.  His big Italian personality, his famiglia ties and his successful bakery business are the perfect ingredients for a hit reality tv drama.  Think The Real Housewives with an obscene amount of flour.  Since the show, Carlo’s bakery has been swamped by camera-armed tourists waiting for a photo op with Hoboken’s favorite baker.

I think it’s a thrilling sight to see when you don’t have to line up to buy your cake. Otherwise, we’re just going to have to suck it up, fall in line and accept that you can’t anymore have your cake and eat it too…corny!

4 Responses to "The Cake Boss"

i dreamt about this after reading the post last night…

We’re Upstaters who discovered Carlo’s via the show. As much as I love that my husband drops in whenever he’s in the City adding to your “tourists,” I can completely understand your frustration in having your quiet spot overrun.

We lived in Saratoga Springs for several years, and my biggest frustration was having our favorite Cafe where we were regulars being taken over by tourists during Track Season. We felt extremely territorial, bitter when we couldn’t get our usual table, and couldn’t wait to have the place back come September. I can’t imagine having it gone forever. 😦

Thanks for the sympathy. I should however look at the bright side. Who knows? Brangelina might just show up!

Hi buddy my name is ella and im in grade 5 and i live in saskatoon saskachewon. I always whatch your show and i love all your sisters they seem really nice, when i grow up i want to own a cake shop just like you, nad your like my biggest baking idol. i really like all of your cakes you make, my favorite was the big long piano cake, and my second best cake was when strech hade to sleep in the truck!!!!!!everything in your shop looks soooooooo good the pastry with the pink filling looks amazing.

say hi to your sisters

from ella

ps please please email back at ella.johnson18@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Tulong Para Sa Rizal

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

