Kiki & Lala

The Last Journey Of Ninoy

Posted on: July 25, 2009

How appropriate that I came across this today just a few minutes after reading your last post.

More than two years ago I interviewed a director by the name of Mike Alcazaren. He was beginning a project about Ninoy. All he was able to show me at the time was a gripping black and white trailer – a montage of recreated images of Ninoy’s lonely journey back home. It was of particular interest to me because Bam was cast as Ninoy. (In fact, it was Bam who had told me of the project in the first place).

I thought this project got shelved because I hadn’t heard anything about it in years. And even Direk Mike said at that time the film needed funding. I always assumed it was going to be a full-length film but it seems to have developed into a docu-drama – still starring Bam.

It promises never before released material like secret recorded conversations. And most touching perhaps is that Tita Cory agreed to be interviewed – while she was in the midst of her chemo. The film is set for release on August 21 this year. I can’t wait.

4 Responses to "The Last Journey Of Ninoy"

Yes I remember you talking about this before! How cool that this has come into fruition. I can’t wait to see it. Didn’t Twinpopsis’ brother direct this?

I’m not sure if Mike Alcazaren stuck it out with this project or if it got passed on to someone else. But I do know he had the blessing of the family for his project.

yes! the be-ponytailed brother of twinpopsis directed and co-wrote this baby… wonder then what happened to mike alcazaren…?

yes yes yes πŸ™‚ kuya jun’s first full length film!!! written directed and produced daw… dunno what happened to that mike… i shall ask…

i think the film will be shown not in theaters but on abscbn πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Tulong Para Sa Rizal

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

