Kiki & Lala

One Day…

Posted on: May 27, 2009

I’m not sure if I told you about the art of a certain Dominic Rubio that I hope to one day acquire.
There’s really no need to explain why…

Rubio 48 x 96 OC

I love the subdued pink sky! But I suppose it’s really the subject matter that touches me. His modern throwback to the romanticism of the 19th century could give any art “appreciator” whip lash. I literally held my breath the first time I laid eyes on these. The craning necks and the oversized heads are his way of expressing his wish that Asians – Pinoys especially – take pride in their heritage and hold their heads up high.

In contrast to the pink sky, here’s one with a hot orangey yellow sky…

Rubio_48 X 84 OC (102108)

But here is my true favorite because it represents so many things I love and believe in – the Philippines, breast feeding and baby wearing…

Rubio ,Mag -Ina, 30 X 24 OC.1

This will hang on a wall in MY house – one day…

2 Responses to "One Day…"

Nice! How much do they go for? You should get them before they appreciate in value…declare, declare!

very reasonable actually, but sadly more than i can afford – for now…

Leave a Reply

Tulong Para Sa Rizal

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 37 other followers

